

BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES

October 12, 2019 • 1:30 - 5:00 PM

Hyatt Regency Bellevue, Bellevue, WA

A. Welcome and Call to order

1:30pm

B. Business 1:45pm

a. Establishment of quorum: 240 members, 120 for quorum. 136 members as in attendance. Quorum established.

Scott Davis, John Buford and Debby Givens appointed to committee to approve the business meeting minutes for 2018

Mary Dockter identified as the time keeper

Reference Committee recognized: Lynn Rivers, Carol Likens, and Bill McGehee

- b. 2018 Business Meeting minutes approved
- c. Treasurer's report:
 Presented by John Buford on behalf of Nancy Reese who was unable to attend ELC
- d. President's Report:

Barb Sanders and Mike Sheldon provided a summary of achievements of the past year by ACAPT leaders and ACAPT's strategic priorities for the final years of its plan ending in 2021.

Members provided their feedback in response to the priorities and expressed concerns that ranged from student debt; program proliferation and quality assurance; reimbursement; and the need for the collection of data.

C. A Report on the Criteria for Excellence

3:30pm

Mary Blackinton and Peter Altenburger presented information on the Criteria for Excellence Meeting held in earlier the spring and sought feedback from the members on three questions:

- a. What is your initial reaction to the concept of a voluntary, multi-faceted system to recognize and inspire excellence?
- b. How can ACAPT encourage participation in a manner that facilitates excellence rather than competition?
- c. What are the challenges of creating and sustaining such a model?

Members engaged by providing their responses using the polling system provided and included robust discussion around each of those responses.

D. New Business

Ryan Bannister, Director of Centralized Application Services and Student Recruitment at APTA, was invited to report on impact from current trends in PT education on admissions.

E. Recognition of Outgoing Officers

4:30pm

4:20pm

Jim Farris and Scott Ward were recognized for their service as Directors to the ACAPT Board

Mary Shall was recognized for her service to the Nominating Committee

F. Swearing In Of New Officers

4:40pm

Peter Altenburger, Director Mary Dockter, Director Tricia Austin, Nominating Committee Member

G. Presentation of 2020 Election Positions to Be Slated

4:50pm

H. Adjournment

5:00pm