• iStock_000023085537_Full
  • iStock_000019022260_Full
  • iStock_000073656593_Full
  • iStock_000071466987_Full
  • iStock_000033210538_Full
  • iStock_000024732512_Full

Full Story

2022 Woodruff lecture: Overcoming DEI fatigue

Jul 11, 2022

ACAPT was a proud sponsor of the third Lynda D. Woodruff Lecture on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Physical Therapy in June 2022 -- featuring speaker Lisa VanHoose, PT, PhD, MPH.

The title of the lecture was "DEI Fatigue? RST is the Intervention (Representation, Sankofa, and Trustworthiness),""

Lisa VanHoose 

At the heart of VanHoose's presentation was the concept of "DEI fatigue," a term used to describe any stress associated with DEI efforts in organizations, but that manifests itself in what VanHoose described as a "subtle resistance [to DEI efforts] that may erode workplace performance." This resistance can surface as a lack of participation in or enthusiasm for DEI initiatives, a sense of general disillusionment about progress, or even discouragement of DEI efforts, she said. You can read a recap of the lecture on APTA's site

How to put the lecture into action

In response to requests for implementing her ideas, Dr. VanHoose created a mindfulness inclusiveness course series.

Access more diversity, equity, and inclusion resources.

Viewing the lecture & panel discussion


A live panel discussion also featured:

  • Julian Magee, PT, DPT, ATC (moderator), inaugural assistant director of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging, and assistant professor, Program in Physical Therapy, Washington University, in St. Louis, Missouri.
  • Emmanuel B. John, PT, DPT, PhD, MBA, MPH, associate professor and chair, Department of Physical Therapy, Chapman University, in Irvine, California & ACAPT Board Member.
  • Tim Vidale, PT, DPT, MBA, CEO of Momentous Sports Medicine in Washington, D.C.
  • Adrienne N. Pinckney, PT, DPT, PhD, associate director of clinical education and assistant professor of instruction, Department of Physical Therapy, University of Delaware, in Newark.

There is no fee to watch the lecture and no registration required. However, the cosponsoring organizations ask that viewers donate at least $10 to one of the following:

About the lecturer

Lisa VanHoose, PT, PhD, MPH, FAPTA, is a clinical professor at Baylor University in the Physical Therapy Department. She is a board-certified clinical specialist in oncologic physical therapy and a fellow of the American Academy of Physical Therapy. She also is the founder and executive director of the Ujima Institute and Foundation.

About the lecture

The Lynda D. Woodruff Lecture is cosponsored by the American Council of Academic Physical Therapy (ACAPT), Physical Therapy Learning Institute (PTLI), American Academy of Physical Therapy (AAPT), National Association of Black Physical Therapists (NABPT), , the APTA Academy of Education, and APTA. This lecture is held annually around Juneteenth.

Check out the Center for Excellence in Academic Physical Therapy


ACAPT welcomes ideas & solutions to help meet the needs of DPT programs. Submit your suggestions for continuing education, professional development, guidelines, tools, best practices and more.

Center for Excellence in Physical Therapy Logo

Stay Informed & Up-To-Date with ACAPT