• iStock_000023085537_Full
  • iStock_000019022260_Full
  • iStock_000073656593_Full
  • iStock_000071466987_Full
  • iStock_000033210538_Full
  • iStock_000024732512_Full


2024 ACAPT elected leaders

ACAPT members voted for the following new leaders whose terms start in October 2024

Board of Directors & Nominating Committee

  • Vice president Patrick Pabian, PT, DPT PhD
  • Board member Heather Ross, PT, MPT, PhD
  • Nominating committee member Marisa Birkmeier, PT, DPT, DHSc, Board Certified in Pediatric PT

ACAPT members voted for the following new leaders whose terms start in October 2023.

Board of Directors & Nominating Committee

  • President Kim Varnado, PT, DPT, DHCs
  • Treasurer Amy Heath, PT, DPT, PhD
  • Board member Neva Kirk-Sanchez, PT, PhD
  • Nominating committee member Amber Fitzsimmons, PT, MS, DPTSc

Read more about ACAPT's new Institutes and restructuring.

Institute for Academic Advancement

  • Chair Harsha Deoghare, PT, PhD
  • Vice Chair Timothy Rethorn, PT, DPT

Institute for Teaching & Learning

  • Chair Frank Tudini, PT, DSc
  • Vice Chair Michael Masaracchio, PT, DPT, PhD

Institute for Community Engagement 

  • Chair Carol Beckel, PT, PhD
  • Vice Chair Prisca Collins, PT, PhD

Institute for Scholarly Inquiry

  • Chair Carole Tucker, PT, PhD
  • Vice Chair Richard Souza, PT, PhD

Check out the Center for Excellence in Academic Physical Therapy


ACAPT welcomes ideas & solutions to help meet the needs of DPT programs. Submit your suggestions for continuing education, professional development, guidelines, tools, best practices and more.

Center for Excellence in Physical Therapy Logo

Stay Informed & Up-To-Date with ACAPT