• SavetheDateELC2019
  • ELC2019
  • iStock_000023085537_Full
  • iStock_000019022260_Full
  • iStock_000073656593_Full
  • iStock_000071466987_Full
  • iStock_000033210538_Full
  • iStock_000024732512_Full

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)

The Consortium will represent the Physical Therapy (PT) Academic Community including Program Directors, Faculty, DCE’s, Resident/Fellowship Director or Faculty, possibly students and PTA’s as advisory members. Geographically, membership is open to anyone in ACAPT.

Our Purpose Is: The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) consortium’s purpose is to promote real change that supports increased accessibility and opportunities for everyone in Education and Profession of Physical Therapy. The DEI consortium will promote increased accessibility, inclusion, acceptance of differences, and opportunities for all stakeholders involved in PT education.

Our Vision Is: The consortium envisions a diverse, equitable, and inclusive physical therapy community where all members are respected and valued for their unique differences and inherent worth, in an atmosphere of mutual respect, trust, and civility.

Our Mission Is: The consortium seeks to examine biases, assumptions, and world views in effort to nurture a progressive community that will promote the importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the pursuit of excellence for the education and profession of physical therapy.

 Our Core Value Statement IsThe DEI Consortium is committed to informing and empowering its members and the physical therapy profession to be agents of real change who are committed to being responsive to our stakeholders in order to improve the health and well-being of diverse populations, communities, and individuals.

Join the Consortium

Note: All of the following fields are required. You must complete the form in it's entirety before submitting. Thank you.

Let's Get Started!

Please provide your first name
Please provide your last name
Please provide your credentials
Please enter your phone number
Please enter your email
Our objectives are:
  • Promote the value and importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the education and practice of physical therapy.
  • Develop strategies and tools to enhance and guide a diverse physical therapy curriculum and practice through evidenced based presentations and/or publications.
  • Create a pipeline for careers in physical therapy among underrepresented minority groups to promote the number of students seeking application and acceptance in doctor of physical therapy programs through education, community involvement, and mentoring.
  • Provide and sustain a national forum for physical therapy academic and clinical partners to engage in difficult conversations that center on diversity, equity, and inclusion as both an asset and barrier to real change that can be measured and sustained.
  • Work in congruence with the recommendations from the Diversity Task Force report, as it relates to the recruitment of minority students and faculty.


This Consortium was approved for development in January of 2019. 

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) consortium’s purpose is to promote real change that supports increased accessibility and opportunities for everyone in Education and Profession of Physical Therapy. The DEI consortium will promote increased accessibility, inclusion, acceptance of differences, and opportunities for all stakeholders involved in PT education.

Chair: Senobia D. Crawford, PT, PhD,

Hampton University

Senobia D. Crawford, PT, PhD,

Hampton University

A. Lynn Millar, PT, PhD, FACSM

Winston-Salem State University

Veronica Jackson, PT, DPT, WCC, ACCE

Nominating Committee
Alabama State University

Dawn S. Brown, PT, DPT, OCS

Nominating Committee
Northern Illinois University

Chair: Senobia D. Crawford, PT, PhD, Hampton University

Vice Chair: Bernadette Williams York, PT, DSc, GCS, University of Washington

Secretary: A. Lynn Millar, PT, PhD, FACSM, Winston-Salem State University

Nominating Committee: Veronica Jackson, PT, DPT, WCC, ACCE, Alabama State University

Nominating Committee:  Dawn S. Brown, PT, DPT, OCS, Northern Illinois University   


Below are position descriptions:

Chair:  The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Consortium and shall be an Exofficio member of all committees except the Nominating Committee. S/he shall be the designated liaison to the ACAPT Board of Directors unless otherwise determined by the DEI Consortium Board of Directors; prepare and submit written reports of the activities of the DEI Consortium to ACAPT; prepare and submit an annual written report of the activities of the Consortium to its members. The Chairperson will assure currency of essential information on the ACAPT DEI Consortium Website.

Vice-Chair: The Vice Chairperson shall assume the duties of the Chairperson at the request of the Chairperson or in the absence or incapacitation of the Chairperson and oversee DEI ad hoc committees as a voting committee member.  The Vice Chair shall serve as the Parliamentarian during the Annual and Special meetings. The Vice Chair shall represent the DEI Consortium related to any Program Planning responsibilities for ELC.

Secretary: The Secretary shall be responsible for keeping the minutes of all DEI Consortium and Board meetings; notify DEI Consortium members of the date, time, and place of DEI Consortium meetings; maintain the DEI Consortium’s archives and correspondence; and make DEI Consortium’s minutes and rules and regulations available to the membership and to ACAPT’s executive office. 

Nominating Committee Member: The Nominating Committee shall consist of three (3) members elected by the membership for three (3) year terms, with one (1) member being elected each year. The senior member of the committee shall serve as Committee Chair for the last year of his/her term.

The nominating committee shall prepare a slate of one (1) or more names for each office to be filled.  The slate (i.e. list of candidates) shall be published in the DEI Consortium newsletter and distributed to the membership at least 60 days prior to the election.  The Nominating Chair will provide the slate, together with the information on each candidate, at least 30 days in advance of the election in the same fashion followed for the publication of the slate.

University of Washington

Bernadette Williams-York, PT, DSc, GCS

University of Washington

Heather Feldner, PT, PhD, PCS

Nova Southeastern University - Fort Lauderdale

Archana Vatwani, PT, DPT, MBA, CLWT, CDP

University of Florida

Archana Vatwani, PT, DPT, MBA, CLWT, CDP

Clarke University

Toni Monat, PT, DPT, NCS, CBIS

University of Washington

Kathryn Lent, PT, DPT, PhC

West Virginia University

Senobia Crawford, PT, PhD

Duke University

Jeffrey Hoder, PT, DPT, NCS

Bellarmine University

Beth Ennis, PT, EdD

Alabama State University

Veronica Jackson , PT, DPT, DCE, WCC

University of Vermont

Deborah Harris, PT

Winston-Salem State University

Audrey Millar, PT, PhD

Northern Illinois University

Dawn Brown, PT, DPT, OCS

Hampton University

Senobia Crawford, PT, PhD

Radford University

Renee Huth, DPT, ABD

University of Minnesota

Jacquelyn Ruen, PT, DPT, OCS

Call for nominations

Further details on the positions that are open will be posted at the beginning of November 2019. If you are interested in serving, please check back or contact one of the executive committee members after the Education Leadership Conference.

Join the Conversation. Contribute and Share in the ACAPT Discussions

Stay Informed & Up-To-Date with ACAPT

Sponsors & Partners